Australia’s Warner out of India T20 series after World Cup exploits

Following World Cup misdeeds, Australia’s Warner is leaving India for a T20 series.

1 minute, 28 seconds Read

David Warner, a veteran opener for Australia’s Twenty20 series in India, withdrew from the team on Tuesday after his heroics in their ODI World Cup victory.

In Ahmedabad on Sunday, Australia defeated the hosts by six wickets to win their sixth one-day World Cup.

The five-match T20 series between the two nations will begin on Thursday in Visakhapatnam, but 37-year-old Warner will ultimately decide not to continue.

Only seven members of Australia’s one-day World Cup-winning squad, including Travis Head, Glenn Maxwell, and Steve Smith, will remain in India for the series as a result of his withdrawal.

Warner, who is getting ready to bid Test cricket farewell, is replaced by all-arounder Aaron Hardie.

Cricket Australia stated in a statement that” Selectors decided Warner would return home after achieving success but demanding World Cup campaign.”

With 535 runs scored at 48.63, Warner was Australia’s top World Cup scorer.

Suryakumar Yadav will lead India for the first time as the hosts ‘ skipper in Rohit Sharma’s absence.

The T20 series will only feature three members of India’s World Cup squad.

Following the Visakhapatnam opening match, there will be games in Guwahati and Thiruvananthapuram on November 26 and 28.

According to the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), Shreyas Iyer will join the team as vice-captain for the final two T20 matches in Raipur and Bengaluru on December 1.

Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Shivam Dube, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh, Prasidh Krishna, and Mukesh Kumar make up the India squad, which also includes Suryakumar Yadav ( captain ), Ruturaj Gaikwad (vice captain ), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh (wk ).

See also  Over Newcastle, New Zealand, optical atmospheric phenomena have been observed.

Captain Matthew Wade, Aaron Hardie, Jason Behrendorff, Sean Abbott, Tim David, Nathan Ellis, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Tanveer Sangha, Matt Short, Steve Smith, Marcus Stoinis, Kane Richardson, and Adam Zampa make up the Australian squad.

Similar Posts